FM Books Galore – in German!

Standard

If you understand German and have FM yourself or know someone who does then you are in luck! Amazon.de has book after book after book on FM. You can find cookbooks, informational books, books devoted to shopping for healthy fructose-free foods…

I knew that Australia and some European countries had more research and a better understanding for FM, but was still surprised to see the vast number of books available for purchase. Americans consume a far greater amount of fructose in varying forms, yet our doctors and dietitians do not really understand this disorder. Why is that? My only answer right now, and this is purely speculation and my own thought, is that the corn industry, particularly those producing High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS) don’t want us to know about FM. I’m not trying to be a conspiracy theorist or anything of the like, but it does make sense.

Is it because of my FM diagnosis and I am therefore more aware, but it seems there are many more commercials on the television lately praising HFCS.  Hmmm….

I have a bunch of books on order from Amazon.de! I have never been more grateful that my husband is German nor that I can manage to get by with my limited German from my college days. Maybe there will be hope for me learning the language after all! As a teacher of English as a Second Language (ESL),  I know that learning another language is easier when there is meaning to the subject matter being studied. That explains why I am able to shop like a champ! It is something I am not only interested in, but also meets a need – I am shopping for something (food, clothing, medication, whatever…) I need.  Maybe I will become more proficient in German thanks to FM…it would great to have something else positive come along with this diagnosis!

Here are some pictures of the covers of books I am ordering:

4 responses »

  1. no german here. My dh is german though – but doesn’t speak it. I actually get pretty pissy when I see the commercials saying it’s just corn when they are talking about HFCS. yeah right (eye roll) tell that to my daughter’s system. 🙂

  2. Just found your blog.
    I found out I have Fructmal in March. Of course my doctor called it Fructose Intolerance, but I seriously doubt I have HFI.
    Still trying to figure out what I can eat. It’s a slow road.

    When my test came back positive my doctor asked me if I ate a lot of HFCS, Nope, haven’t had any in over 7 years. And I haven’t had any gluten in over 6. She asked if I ate a lot of fruit…well, no fruit really doesn’t agree with me. I’d eat the occasional banana, an apple (but usually only if it was cooked in something), some blueberries, and maybe some citrus here and there. But really, not very often. It often makes my mouth break out, and I just feel ill.
    I’ve had high triglycerides for years, I just had them tested less than a month after starting this diet, and they are barely high. Whew, what a relief. I have a fatty liver, and hypoglycemia. (I’ve read this often comes with fructose intolerance.) Who knows perhaps I do have HFI, and just avoided the foods that made me too sick. I’m just hoping it all calms down.
    Trying to come up with new recipes I can tolerate.
    I really hope as I can eat more I will be able to post more on my blog.
    http://wendycooks.wordpress.com

    Looking forward to hearing more about what you find in your new books.
    wendy

    • Wendy,
      Thank you for sharing your story with me. I got my “official” diagnosis of FM in April. One month, almost to the day, of getting a lactose intolerance diagnosis. My food journal the GI had me keeping has proved to be a wealth of information for me and helped get me the fructose breath test based on symptoms I would see time and again after consuming foods with high levels of fructose.

      This has been a very long and slow process. Until recently I never even heard of FM. No one in my immediate family or close circle of friends had heard of this either. Once again, it seemed I was marching to my own drum… “Sigh”

      “Meeting” people such as you was one of my purposes for starting a blog. I am grateful that we can reach out to each other and help to navigate these rough and strange waters together.

      I love your blog! I am totally new to this and I’m sure it shows! LOL! In time I hope I can have a blog that educates and comforts others.
      ((Hugs)),
      Lisa

Leave a comment